Insurance News

Local Insurance Agents: Virginia Is Giving 200,000 Residents Up to 70% Off Health Premiums. Here’s Who Qualifies

About The Author: · Published

Charles Falcon is a pen name used by the sole author and publisher of VerifiedAgent.com. AI tools assist with research, organization, and drafting. The author is responsible for checking sources, reviewing the final text, and correcting errors. AI assistance is not independent editorial review.

Local insurance agents can explain Virginia’s 2027 premium relief, which may lower costs for qualifying households enrolled through the state Marketplace. Axios Richmond reported on October 29 that Virginia’s $150 million program starts Sunday, November 1, when Open Enrollment begins; the state savings apply to Plan Year 2027 coverage.

What the Virginia Premium Savings Program Is

Virginia Premium Savings is a state-funded program to reduce monthly premiums for eligible people who enroll in a Qualified Health Plan (QHP) through Virginia’s Insurance Marketplace. The Virginia State Corporation Commission estimates that 200,000 residents could qualify and says eligible consumers could save as much as 70% on monthly premiums. That is a potential maximum, not a guaranteed reduction for each enrollee.

The Exchange will administer the $150 million Virginia Health Insurance Affordability Fund. The program takes effect January 1, 2027, and is funded for Plan Year 2027 only. Savings apply to QHP premiums. They do not apply to catastrophic plans or stand-alone dental plans.

The state’s Virginia Premium Savings FAQ says eligibility is determined during enrollment and that the resulting monthly savings appear during the application process. Applicants can compare plan costs before finalizing enrollment.

Blue layered assistance bands joining a shield to represent state and federal premium support

The timing follows substantial affordability changes. The SCC reported that Virginians purchasing Marketplace coverage in 2026 saw an average 75% increase in premiums they paid, reflecting both carrier rate increases and the expiration of enhanced federal premium tax credits. The Exchange estimated that about 100,000 Virginians lost coverage that year as premiums rose.

Who Qualifies (Checklist)

Virginia Premium Savings eligibility depends on household size, income, residency, coverage, and other factors. Available state records list these requirements:

  • Virginia residency: The applicant must reside in Virginia.
  • Marketplace enrollment: The applicant must enroll in a QHP through Virginia’s Insurance Marketplace.
  • Eligible plan type: Catastrophic coverage and stand-alone dental coverage do not qualify.
  • Citizenship or immigration status: The applicant must be a U.S. citizen or a lawfully present non-citizen eligible to enroll in Marketplace coverage.
  • Incarceration status: The applicant must not be incarcerated.
  • Other coverage: The applicant must not be enrolled in or eligible for other minimum essential coverage.
  • Household income: Income must fall from 138% to 250% of the federal poverty level (FPL).

The Marketplace lists the income range as $22,025 to $39,900 for one person and $45,540 to $82,500 for a family of four. Eligibility for other household sizes is based on household size and income; the application makes the formal determination.

The state’s income band is a key limit. Although some people may be ineligible for federal Advance Premium Tax Credits (APTC) and still meet Virginia’s other requirements, that does not extend the state program to every income level. For example, a household earning above 400% FPL would be outside Virginia Premium Savings’ stated 138%–250% FPL range. Some lawfully present non-citizens affected by 2027 federal APTC eligibility changes may still qualify for state savings if they meet the program’s income and other rules.

Eligibility checklist illustration with home, household, and shield symbols in blue

How the Savings Stack With Federal Tax Credits

Virginia Premium Savings supplements federal APTC. An applicant eligible for APTC must use the full amount for which the household qualifies first. Virginia’s state savings are then applied to the remaining monthly QHP premium.

The two layers are not interchangeable. Federal APTC eligibility and Virginia Premium Savings eligibility follow different rules. Virginia’s Marketplace says that a household ineligible for APTC may still qualify for the state program if it meets the state’s criteria. For 2027, certain non-citizens who remain eligible to buy a Marketplace QHP will not qualify for federal APTC or cost-sharing reductions, but may still be considered for Virginia Premium Savings.

The state FAQ also says Virginia Premium Savings does not change APTC eligibility or the amount of federal assistance. The Marketplace’s federal changes page summarizes the expiration of enhanced APTCs and the 2027 eligibility changes.

What It Means for One Richmond Household (Persona)

Consider a hypothetical 41-year-old Richmond home health aide who lives alone and earns about $30,000 a year. That is approximately 190% FPL for a household of one, within the income range listed for Virginia Premium Savings.

If she meets the other requirements, she applies for 2027 coverage through Virginia’s Insurance Marketplace. The Marketplace first determines whether she qualifies for federal APTC. If she does, the full eligible APTC is applied first. Virginia Premium Savings can then reduce the remaining eligible monthly premium.

The exact premium cannot be calculated from income alone. It depends on the plan selected and the household’s application details. The Marketplace is expected to show the actual savings during the application so she can compare plan costs before completing enrollment. A reduction of up to 70% is possible under the state program, but the amount for this hypothetical applicant is not established by the information provided.

The required step is to enroll through the state Marketplace, not merely to contact an agent or request an estimate. An agent may assist with the application, but the Marketplace determines program eligibility.

Timeline and First-Come-First-Served Funding Reality

The key dates and steps are:

Timing Action or status
October 29–31, 2026 Review household members, expected income, current coverage, and plan needs.
November 1, 2026 Open Enrollment begins. Applicants can apply for 2027 coverage and see whether savings are available.
January 1, 2027 Virginia Premium Savings begins for eligible Plan Year 2027 coverage.
January 29, 2027 Open Enrollment ends.
After Open Enrollment A qualifying life event may allow a plan change; eligibility and available program funds still matter.

Virginia’s FAQ says savings are available on a first-come, first-served basis and identifies choosing a plan during Open Enrollment as the best way to secure them. The FAQ does not state a precise date when funds might be exhausted or detail what happens to each pending application if they run out. For that reason, a late-January applicant should not assume funding will remain available.

If an eligible enrollee has a qualifying life event and changes plans, the FAQ says savings can be applied to the new plan if the enrollee still meets the requirements. That remains subject to program availability. Applicants who disagree with an eligibility determination can use the Marketplace’s Consumer Appeal Request Form or appeal through the account, by mail, or by phone.

Targeting 138%–250% FPL focuses assistance on a group the SCC says accounted for roughly 45% of Virginians who lost Marketplace coverage in 2026. This income band is above Virginia’s Medicaid expansion threshold for many adults while remaining within a range where reduced federal assistance can have a substantial effect on coverage costs. The state program addresses a specific affordability gap, but its funding is limited to 2027. Its end-of-year funding horizon is a separate uncertainty for households planning beyond that coverage year.

Virginia’s fund is a state response to its own affordability circumstances. It may offer a case for other policymakers to examine, but it does not establish that other states have adopted or will adopt a similar program.

Blue calendar timeline ending in a checked shield for the 2027 enrollment period

How to Verify the Agent Helping You Enroll

An insurance agent or broker assisting with Marketplace enrollment should hold the appropriate active Virginia license. The Virginia SCC Bureau of Insurance provides an official agent search, where consumers can look up an agent using identifying information, including a National Producer Number (NPN).

An NPN is an identifier, not proof by itself that a person currently holds an active Virginia license. Check the agent’s current status through the state’s official lookup. The VerifiedAgent Virginia directory can be used as a research starting point to review available agent profile information. A directory profile is not a substitute for confirming license status with the Virginia SCC.

FAQ

Who Qualifies for Virginia Premium Savings?

Potentially eligible residents must meet the state’s residency, QHP enrollment, citizenship or lawful-presence, incarceration, other-coverage, and income requirements. The income range is 138%–250% FPL. The Marketplace makes the formal eligibility determination.

Does Virginia Premium Savings Replace or Stack With Federal APTC?

It supplements APTC. Applicants eligible for federal APTC must use the full eligible amount first. State savings are then applied to the remaining qualifying premium. Some people ineligible for APTC may still qualify for state savings if they meet Virginia’s separate requirements.

When Does Open Enrollment End?

Open Enrollment for 2027 coverage runs from November 1, 2026, through January 29, 2027.

What If Funds Run Out?

Funding is first-come, first-served. The state FAQ does not specify the exact process or date if funding is exhausted. Check the Marketplace application for current eligibility and savings information.

Does the Savings Need to Be Reported on State Taxes?

No. Virginia Premium Savings is not a tax credit and does not need to be reported on a Virginia state tax return, according to the Marketplace FAQ.

Bottom Line

Virginia’s 2027 premium relief may reduce monthly QHP premiums for eligible Marketplace enrollees, with potential savings of up to 70%. Eligibility is limited by income and other program rules, and APTC must be applied first when available. Open Enrollment begins November 1 and ends January 29, while program funding is first-come, first-served and covers Plan Year 2027 only. Current eligibility, agent licensing, and plan details should be independently confirmed through official sources.